What it does: Allows you to create a professionally designed proposal that you can send to prospective clients in minutes.
Purpose: Saves you time by creating a beautiful, professionally designed proposal on an easy to use platform.
Prerequisites*: None, but a catalog is recommended.
*Requirements to create a proposal.
Available On: Pro*, Premium & Enterprise Plans
*E-signatures are not available on Pro plans.
Step 1: Log onto your Roofr dashboard and click the “Proposals” button on the left side navigation.
Step 2: If this is your first proposal click the “Create proposal” button. Otherwise, click the “New proposal” button.
Step 3: Next, click the “Create without template" button.
Step 4: Next, enter in the job’s address and proposal name.
Note: The proposal name is for your reference only, and won’t be sent to the customer.
Step 5: Once complete, click the “Save details” button.
Step 6: Begin to add line items by clicking the “Add item” button. From there, you can either select an existing item from your catalog, or create a description for a new item and select “Add new item”.
Note: You can also easily create powerful scope of work quotes using your per square pricing model.
Step 7: Next, if the item is new you’ll need to type in the unit cost per item. For example, if you’re selecting a “Starter Strip Shingle” you would add the cost for only one bundle.
Note: Your “unit cost” is your cost to purchase this item, not the amount you are charging your customer.
Step 8: Then, select the total quantity needed of the item to complete this job.
Step 9: Next, select the waste percentage you want to assign to this item.
Step 10: Then, select the tax percentage. This is the tax amount you will be charging your customers.
Step 11: Repeat steps 6-10 for as many items as you would like to include in your proposal.
Note: Don’t forget, if you add any new items to this proposal, they won’t save under your master catalog.
Step 12: Once you have added in all the items for the job, you can select your margin. This is how much you would like to earn for the job. This can be anywhere from 0-100%. To include individual margins, click the “link” button on the item and update.
Step 13: To include pricing click the toggle button at the top of the page.
Step 14: Once you’re done, click the “Review and send” button.
To learn how to send a proposal, click here.
To calculate the margin, take the subtotal price and remove the unit costs. Then, take that number and divide by the subtotal price again to get your margin. Here’s how to calculate your margin based on your desired profit:
Unit Cost: $1,500
Desired Profit: $750
Desired Total Revenue: Unit Cost ($1,500) + Desired Profit ($750) = $2,250
Desired Profit ($750) / Desired Total Revenue ($2,250) = 0.333
0.3333 * 100 = 33.3%